Radio Silence

21 Apr

Yes, I have been silent for almost a month! Yikes.

BIG things are changing around here.

We are taking the plunge.

Townhouse is for sale.

New house keys are in hand coming this Saturday.

I put in my resignation at work last Thursday.

We are moving!

Back to an older established neighborhood, with a back yard and a great community feeling. I am so excited. Start of a new life in a swank neighborhood LOL.

I am planning to stay home and dabble in whatever I can to make some cash. So far between my own ideas of what I should do and other people’s suggestions I have this list of possible simultaneous at-home career endeavors: babysitter, before/after school child minder, dog walker, art teacher, garden planner/weekly weeder/planter creator, furniture refinisher etc. I think there were two or three more that I can’t remember right now. Of course, furniture refinisher is my number one dream career. But I am being realistic and think that something more steady, like babysitter will take precedent and furniture refinisher will need to flourish from small beginings.

So right now I am in a fury of activity excited about decorating a new place. Selling “old” furniture on Kijiji … most of which we bought at IKEA new three years ago when we moved in. Most of them were impulse buys I will admit and I am looking for more thought out pieces this time around. Picking up “new” old furniture off Kijiji to make mine! Packing. Decluttering as I pack. Today I tackled Mr. Somewhat’s embarrassing book collection that I barely unpacked since moving here. Is it wrong that I purposefully left all his Star Wars and Star Trek novels in the box and never put them on the bookshelf? I also learned that I have been lugging around at least 20 books that belong to neither of us LOL. I always assumed they were his books, he assumed they were mine … I guess some roommate long ago stuck me with them! So I now have two boxes of books that are off to charity. I feel better already. Tomorrow I am tackling the linen closet. Goodbye 4 year old shampoo I never use but didn’t have the heart to throw out. Good bye!

One Response to “Radio Silence”

  1. Alison Morgan April 21, 2011 at 2:17 PM #

    Hey Sara! Good luck with the BIG changes – they sound like the right thing to do. Just wanted to say keep up the dream of being a furniture refinisher. A friend of mine in Red Deer wanted to be a photographer and she did the same thing – stayed home with her kiddos, did some babysitting, and gradually built up a group of photography clients and now she’s off and running with an amazing business. You’re the kind of person that can make that happen, too, with all your talent and personality 🙂 Good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

